Feeling Saucy

I love a flavorful dinner that can cook itself in the crock pot! A little prepping is all it takes, and by the time I come home and kick off my shoes, we’re ready to eat!

Plated
Most of the ingredients are probably already in your cabinet and fridge, which makes this recipe even better. Before I start cooking anything, I go ahead and spray the inside of my slow cooker with cooking spray.

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground beef
3 16oz. cans diced tomatoes (Italian style), drained
1 10oz. can tomato sauce
1 6oz. can tomato paste (optional)
1 green bell pepper, diced
1c. onion, diced
1/4 tsp. minced garlic
2 tbsp. basil
2 tbsp. thyme
salt and pepper to taste

My husband loves peppers and I love onions, so I add more of each than the recipe calls for. Both are cooked until peppers are tender and the onions are transparent. I use another pan to cook my ground turkey until its crumbly and brown. Make sure the turkey is drained well, then transfer to your slow cooker along with the cooked onions and peppers.

Peppers and Onion
I chose to use turkey meat as a healthier option, but you are more than welcome to substitute for beef if you were looking for a little more flavor.

Open your cans of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce and add them to your slow cooker. Add in the minced garlic, basil, thyme, salt, and pepper. Stir until it’s well mixed.

If you’re like me, you like a thicker sauce. Add the small can of tomato paste to give it just a little more substance. Completely optional!

Set your slow cooker to low and cook for 7-8 hours.

Crockpot
Then voila! Pour your sauce over noodles and you have yourself a family favorite spaghetti dinner!

I especially love this recipe because it is easy to prep and cooks while I’m at work. When I’m leaving for the day, I usually call my husband and ask him to cook the noodles since I’m starving when I finally get home around 7:00PM. He’s so great to help! Or he just doesn’t want me to be hangry, haha.

Plated
Hope you enjoy it as much as we do! From my heart to yours.

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 7-8 hours

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground beef
3 16oz. cans diced tomatoes (Italian style), drained
1 10oz. can tomato sauce
1 6oz. can tomato paste (optional)
1 green bell pepper, diced
1c. onion, diced
1/4 tsp. minced garlic
2 tbsp. basil
2 tbsp. thyme
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Spray inside of slow cooker with cooking spray.
2. Chop onions and peppers into diced pieces. Cook until peppers are tender and onions are transparent.
3. While peppers and onions are cooking, cook ground turkey in a separate pan until brown and crumbly. Drain well. (too much fat can leave the sauce looking soupy)
4. Add cooked turkey, peppers, and onions to slow cooker.
5. Add cans of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, minced garlic, basil, thyme, salt and pepper.
6. Stir until mixed well.
7. (optional) for thicker sauce, add can of tomato paste.
8. Set slow cooker to low and cook for 7-8 hours.

Leave a Reply

